Australia Awards African Academics Post-Doctoral Fellowship 2020

Australia Awards African Academics Post-Doctoral Fellowship 2020:

Australia Awards – Africa is a Department of Foreign Affairs and Trade (DFAT) funded initiative. It is designed to equip Africans with the skills and knowledge necessary to contribute to sustainable economic and social development outcomes in their own countries.

In addition, Australia Awards – Africa builds long-term, sustainable links between targeted countries in Africa and Australia. The program provides a variety of Masters scholarships, postgraduate short courses and post-doctoral fellowships to Africans in the public, civil society and private sectors in targeted disciplines, that support the home countries’ developmental priorities.

Calvin University Mosaic Award for International Students, USA

Fellowship Type

Postdoctoral, Fellowship

Value of Award

The costs covered by the Post-Doctoral Fellowship are detailed in each Awardee’s contract. These include fees that are common for all Awardees and costs that may be applicable depending on individual fellowship conditions.

To Be Taken At (Country): Australia, Ghana, Kenya or South Africa.

Eligible Countries

Phase 2 of the pilot will be open to Eligible Applicants affiliated to Ghanaian, Kenyan or South African Universities that are members of the AAUN.

Curtin University Master of Management Funding in Australia


A candidate must meet the following criteria:

  • Be a citizen of an eligible African country as outlined in the table in Annex 2 of the Post-Doctoral Fellowships Guidelines
  • Must be studying in Ghana, Kenya or South Africa
  • Must have the right to reside and work in Ghana, Kenya or South Africa
  • Must be affiliated with their home institution in Ghana, Kenya or South Africa in an academic/research capacity
  • Be at least 25 and not more than 50 years of age at the date of application
  • Home and Host Institutions must be members of the Australia Africa Universities Network
  • Not be a citizen of Australia, hold permanent residency in Australia or be applying for a visa to live in Australia permanently
  • Must not be married, engaged to, or a de facto of a person who holds, or is eligible to hold, Australian or New Zealand citizenship or permanent residency, at any time during the application, selection or mobilisation phases
  • be able to satisfy all requirements of the Department of Immigration and Border Protection to hold a Temporary Activity Visa (subclass 408). This may mean that DFAT will need to withdraw an Award offer if the Awardee cannot satisfy the visa requirements
  • Have been conferred a PhD at the time of application
  • Field of research must be aligned to Agricultural Productivity, Health and Science and Technology
  • Must have a letter of support from their home institution that outlines their agreement to the Fellowship, Annex 4 of the Post-Doctoral Fellowships Guidelines
  • Must have a letter of invitation from the Host Institution in Australia, outlining their commitment to the Fellowship, Annex 4 of the Post-Doctoral Fellowships Guidelines
  • Must be able to commence their program in the academic year 2019
Ann Browne Funding for UK and EU Students at Queen’s University Belfast, UK

How to Apply

Hard copy applications will not be accepted. Applications and supporting documentation must be scanned and submitted to [email protected]

Application Deadline

Australia Awards Scholarship awards are available and applications are open between 1 September and 6 December.

Visit the Program Web-page for More Details

Award Providers: Department of Foreign Affairs and Trade (DFAT)

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.